Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to this.....I recently bought a bayonet that was mounted on a wooden pole like a hoe handle with a metal end on it that had a mount welded onto it for holding a bayonet. It had a U.S. Krag Bolo bayonet mounted on it, but I was told that it probably was British and I tried a 1917 Enfield bayonet on it and it fits fine. Any help would be appreciated to help identify it. Thanks, Harry Not sure if I can put a photo on this or not....

·
Platinum Bullet Member/Moderator
2,977 Posts
I am surprised that someone hasn't commented. Certainly it is well documented that the British and the Irish (during the troubles) made pikes with bayonet blades attached to wood poles. I have never heard of any with detachable components. They were all fixed by welding to the shaft ferrule to my knowledge. Pictures would be wonderful.

I can't remember the book but it was documented that during WWII a Scots home guard armed with a pike ran down a hill into two German saboteurs beaching a rubber boat. He stuck the boat and scared the Germans into surrendering. Sorry I can't be of more help but as moderator I can't stand to see an item go unanswered.

Priest's "The Spirit of the Pike" has nothing on the subject.

·
Silver Bullet member
2,190 Posts
A Krag bolo bayonet is a great find! You don't see those every day.

As I recall, the Krag bolo bayonet was intended for issue in the Phillipines. I wonder if this odd pole arm originated in the Pacific. Maybe Phillipino or Japanese?

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks breakeyp! I'm really anxious to find out more about this pole/bayonet I found. I did some research and found that some home guard British were armed with pikes with bayonets welded onto them.
Is there a way for me to post a photo?
Thanks!

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·