Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4,541 Posts
Initially the M12 Trench Gun came in both the blued and parkerized finishes. The blued ones were in the 980,000 to 1,029,000 range and the parkerized ones in the 1,030,000 to 1,040,000 range. I have seen several M12 Trench Guns that were originally blued but are now sporting a parkerized finish.

·
Registered
320 Posts
Initially the M12 Trench Gun came in both the blued and parkerized finishes. The blued ones were in the 980,000 to 1,029,000 range and the parkerized ones in the 1,030,000 to 1,040,000 range. I have seen several M12 Trench Guns that were originally blued but are now sporting a parkerized finish.
I am FAR from an expert on Winchester trench guns however I have read alot about them. From all that I have read, all 97's and 12's were originally blued and were parkerized in an after war rebuild program. Again I am no expert but have never encountered any imformation about factory parkerized. May I ask you where you obtained your imformation?

·
Platinum Bullet member
7,029 Posts
All WWI trench guns were blued. M97 Winchesters, and M10 Remingtons. Model 12 Winchesters were made in prototype only, and probably never made to France. These guns were parked in government facilities, after WWI. All models mfg during WWII, were factory parkerized, by whomever made them.

·
Registered
588 Posts
Except for some of the Vietnam era shotguns, the only orginal factory parkerized US Military contract shotguns were the late made WW2 Winchester Model 12 trench guns. Every other riot or trench gun made during WW1 and WW2 had a factory blue finish. So, except for those late made WW2 Model 12 trench guns, any WW1 or WW2 made riot or trench gun that is parkerized has been refinished either during rebuild or privately.

·
Platinum Bullet member
7,029 Posts