Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

· Registered
75 Posts
Well, what a coincidence. I'm glad I found this thread. Bought a case of x54r from Widener's on 3/7. It was shipped and my card was charged on 3/14.
On 3/21 I happened to check my account and there it was. Someone charged 5 tickets on Quatar Airlines on that day,.... Almost $7000.

I called, then went to my bank to report it. Had to wait until the charges went through (they were 'pending') which they did today, 3/24. I cancelled my card. What a PITA, now I have to wait for a new card.
I've been doing business with Widener's for many years. I emailed them last Friday about what happened, but I guess they don't want to reply to me.
Man oh man, Widener's needs to step up and address this to their customer base.

· Registered
75 Posts
I got the same "eblast" sale ad.
I also found similar Widener's stories on ar15.com/ ak47, and their GD forum.
http://www.ar15.com/forums/t_4_64/154473_credit_card_stolen_after_purchase_at_wideners.html
http://www.ar15.com/forums/t_1_5/1605693_credit_card_stolen_after_purchase_at_wideners.html

No need to actually read them, but it's echoing what's been said here, that soon after a purchase at Widener's, their cards were used for fraudulent purchases.
Some banks, quite a few actually, catch the fraud, some don't. Mine is one that doesn't monitor for fraud.

The problem, as I see it, is if people don't have an AK or SKS, they wouldn't have looked here to get a 'heads up' before buying from Widener's. Pretty sure they'll clean their own house, or whoever processes their cards, but until then, many hundreds of people are still getting screwed.

The few that have gotten thru on the phone to them have been told, "Well, there's no problem here."
Accept responsibility for your actions and fix the problem.

· Registered
75 Posts