Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 20 of 67 Posts

·
Registered
13,940 Posts
Of the ones shown, I would take the PU. In preference to that, I would take a No.4Mk.1(T)

The 03A4 (I have one) is a non-starter because of the weak optics, I have no experience with the 98 or the 99.

·
Registered
282 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Of the ones shown, I would take the PU. In preference to that, I would take a No.4Mk.1(T)

The 03A4 (I have one) is a non-starter because of the weak optics, I have no experience with the 98 or the 99.
I thought the same but there’s something about the Springfield optic. It’s very clear and comfortable, just underpowered

·
Registered
282 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
My ranking order would be.

# 1 K98 High Turret (superior optics)
# 2 1903A4 (ergonomic perfection)
# 3 91/30 PU (robust construction)
# 4 Type 99 (excellent penetration)

I would also be perfectly happy with a SMLE No.4T.
The 03a4 is by far the most comfy to handle. I would still pick the PU just because it’s so user friendly and the optic platform is monkey proof. That, and it’s basically indestructible

·
Registered
13,940 Posts
f I need to amplify my choice of the PU any, The darn things are virtually bulletproof, and those barrels are much more accurate than they seem to have any right to be

Ergonomically, the high centerline of the scope on the PU IS a problem, but I have devised a very functional cheekpiece for mine that resolves that issue.

My first sniper was a No.4 Mk.1(T), (I bought it back when I was 20 (in 1970)) and I just fell in love with it ergonomically. I now own two of them.

I inherited the 03A4 from my late brother (along with one of the No.4(T)'s), and it just hasn't impressed me the few times I have had it out.

·
Banned
20,866 Posts