Gunboards Forums banner

1 - 20 of 109 Posts

·
Registered
124 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A casual poll if you will, which conflict do you find most interesting?

For me it's the American Civil War or War Between the States.
I can't say I'm a expert by a long shot. Too many people with the same type names to follow...;) but I do like reading about it and especially looking at modern photos of the battlefields.

yours?

·
Gold Bullet member
1,433 Posts
The Napoleonic wars.
E: Spanish Civil War fascinates me as well.

·
Registered
213 Posts
1948 War of Independence. Followed by the later Arab-Israeli wars, and then: China airwar 1932 to 1945. Africa decolonization conflicts, 1945 to present.

Not a specific conflict, but, Special Air Operations.

Robert

·
Registered
673 Posts
The Eastern Front of WW II has captivated me. While the U.S. involvement was considerable, the Russians carried the land combat load for four years.

One conflict I'd be interested with reading/hearing more about was the U.S. military involvement with quashing a communist inspired uprising in the Dominican Republic in 1965. That conflict has completely fallen off the historical radar, yet network TV news in 1965 gave it as much air-time as Vietnam back then.

Tens of thousands of Marines and other U.S. military forces were sent there in support of the Domincan government and put down the uprising.

Much to my surprise the U.S. military intervention force sent to the Domincan Republic, in 1965, has all been forgotten.

·
Registered
710 Posts
The Great War. Also known as WW1. After it, everything changed.

·
Diamond with Oak Clusters and Swords member
11,119 Posts
The American war between the states, especially the trans-Mississippi or western part. Which probably makes sense since I live in Indian Territory and have a relative that fought with the Cherokee's and then Clarkson's Battalion.

His records show he went on detatched duty in Indian territory and never returned.

·
Registered
667 Posts