Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a newbie to this forum. I am interested in purchasing a "M44" Russian Mosin Nagant bolt-action rifle. There is a sporting goods store in the California Bay Area where I live that is offering these rifles for sale. The ad reads "7.62 x 54R Caliber" and "Side-Folding Bayonet". It does not specify the year, but does read "Rifle condition varies by store". I researched this rifle, and it seems just what I am looking for as a rifle for self-defense. But I am worried about the ammunition. Is the 7.62x54R available for purchase, and if so, can one living in California legally purchase this ammo if, for example, it had to be mail ordered? Thanks so much for any information.

·
Moderator / Silver Bullet member
2,323 Posts
Sounds like you've come across a Big-5 ad. 7.62x54r isn't too hard to find in the CA Bay Area, and as far as I know the ammo can be mail ordered except for in certain parts of So. California.

As far as an M44 for self defense, I'd reconsider.

·
Registered
2,627 Posts
Sporting good stores in your area should carry 54R but if not check the Gunboards sponsor links and one of them is sure to have some. I agree with the others for home defense a M44 is not your best choice. Look at getting your self a handgun or shotgun for that purpose.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thank you for information so far