Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
174 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just picked up 200 rounds of '06 Springfield for the "old man" (M1). 1 box of Winchester and 9 boxes of Prvi Partisan. The Winchester I'm a little worried about being a "hot" load, but it's only 20 rounds, I'm pretty sure the old man can take that. The Prvi, though, I have no experience with. It looks to be brand new production, brass is clean and shiny. Boxes don't appear to be too old. Made in Serbia. Both the Winchester and Prvi are 150 grain, lead nose. I gave $120 for all 10 boxes so as long as it goes 'BOOM' every time I pull the trigger I suppose I did OK. I just got this mainly to target shoot since surplus Garand ammo is getting scarce and I like to shoot the old man from time to time.
So anything I should be worried about with Prvi? Comments? Opinions?

·
Registered
1,136 Posts
don't know about non-military surplus out of the Garand, but Prvi is good stuff! Well worth the $12/box

·
Platinum Bullet Member
7,498 Posts
Prvi makes great ammo, but I would not risk shooting any ammo not specifically made for the gas system of the M1.
I agree. Prvi makes good stuff. The M1 is a good rifle but picky about what you feed it.

·
Registered
512 Posts
I have had mostly good results with Privi except the 6.5X55 Mauser ammo, 139 gr FMJ. It shoots groups 2 times larger then the Swedish surplus ammo I have. Not impressed at all with the ammo, expected better accuracy. The ammo shoots about 3 moa and was shot from 6 different Swede rifles including CG63's and CG80. It's the ammo.
Ken

·
Registered
1,725 Posts
I have been through 2k rds of thr privi 193 5.56 and only had 1 bad round, it is top shelf stuff. Do not shoot anything but M2 ball spec ammo thru a Garand, the powder in the M2 rounds have a specific burn rate/ pressure curve and using comercial ammo can cause you to bend your op rod.

·
Registered
988 Posts