Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Copper Bullet member
2,514 Posts
Just wanted to know what year would my Eddystone M1917 was made. Serial no. is 267484.
Should be January, 1918.
Eddystone serial numbers and barrel dates tend to correlate pretty well, although there is some variation, since rifles were not assembled in serial number order. The army used barrel​ date as date of manufacture, for lack of anything more exact to go by. A rifle with a 1-18 barrel date was deemed manufactured that month, even though the receiver may have been made earlier.

·
Registered
46 Posts
I will happily defer to Jungles, as I have no personal, in depth knowledge of the M1917. I only pass on the information that appears in Dick Culver's 2003 article, "The U.S. Rifle, caliber .30, M1917," which lists the serial number of 256,006 for February 1918 Eddystone M1917s, with the comment that "the serial number listed for each month is generally accepted as the 1st serial # for that month." He shows the serial number 174,160 for January 1918 Eddystones, and 354,351 for March 1918 Eddystones. Whether Mr. Culver's information is accurate, or whether the "generally accepted" views of 2003 have been refined with the passage of time, I have no idea. Regards, McAuslan

·
Copper Bullet member
694 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
The barrel date is 1-18 on my M1917. Thanks to Jungles and McAuslan for their helpful post. Seems the M1917 went to Canada then to Denmark and back to the US. It never was reworked and all parts that I can see are "E" marked except the bolt which came back with a numbered "W" bolt. It's a very good shooter.

·
Registered
142 Posts
Just came across an Eddystone at a shop with a serial #1357059, but all the serial search places stop just short of the number on this rifle. Any ideas or suggestions? It's assumed to be a 30-06, but there's some question about that, too as the guy who sold it to the shop said it was .303. Haven't had a chance to look further into that.