Gunboards Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was wondering what milsurp rifle I should get for my birthday. I am 13, skinny, not the biggest kid but I can handle a 30-06 easily. I'm new to surplus rifles and i'm aiming for a good rifle for under $250 what do you guys think? I'm new to this whole thing so I hope I came to the right place.

·
Registered
61 Posts
I'm also new to milsurp rifles. I started with a Russian Mosin M44 (with bayonet). I highly recommend the M44 because it's easy to find one and the price is right. I bought mine with all matching numbers on parts for $90.00. That's hard to beat to get started. The Russian Mosin M38 (same as M44 but without bayonet) is also a great way to start but they are a little harder to find.

3,724 Posts
First Milsurp -- Turk or Enfield?

Swiss K31? Are you serious? It's a very fine rifle, but he'd take a year to find a regular source to score ammo for it. The M44 is an obvious good recommendation, though it is a bit of a hard kicker and not all are created equal. A few years ago, I'd have said a Turk Mauser M38 (I got mine in 2000 for $41 and it is a real beauty (after a lot of elbow grease). But the days of the six-fers and so forth are gone for good, it seems, and my junkyard dogs are now going for upwards of $300, so that hoss may have left the paddock. SO as an alternative to the M44 (which I love) and more expensive beauties like the Swedes and Persians, I would strongly recommend ..... (drumroll, please?) the Enfield. Number 4 Mark 1*, preferably. You can still get ammo for it at Walmart if you must. It is accurate, handy, "interesting", "cool looking" and accurate as hell with the flip up, micrometer adjustable peep sights, and darned useful with the 20 round magazine, and a hard hitter with the .303 cartridge ... except that full disassembly is a B*TCH. But he might not have to do that. And you can still get nice ones for $150 or so, if you hunt and haggle.

·