Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Silver Bullet member
385 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I shop for milsurps as most do.Gun shows,Gun shops, Pawn shops ect.The one
rifle I see in just about everyone is the M1 Garand.

The Tulsa show the worlds largest was a good example, for there was hardly
a milsurp table with out at least a few.Most went for $800 on up.The funny
thing is I don't see that much sales going on for these great ole guns.

Just about every dealer stands fast on his-her price.There is a gun shop I go in
offen.He has had the same Garand for at least two years priced at $1100.

I offend wonder how dealers can tie up there money in guns they don't sell with
in a certain time frame, & still stay in business.

Just because your in business, does not make you a business man.:?

·
Registered
6,017 Posts
Hmmmmm......

Lets see I've been collecting Garands for 20-25 years. Supply and demand definitely affect their prices like any other firearm.

Go pick up a 1975-78 Blue book of values. During that period of collecting an M1 was valued nearly as much as a G43s or M1941 Johnsons. Part of that was the one-rifle-in-a-lifetime policy of the then CMP/DCM. There were serious hoops to jump through to get one too back then.

If you look at the increase in values - the Garand has really been a poor choice in comparison to most firearms. $400-$500 for Garand. $600 for G43. $600 for Johnson. $59 for Chinese SKS. $79 Arisakas. etc. to ad nauseum.

However there werte many firearms that got hammered and are worth less now - Makarovs, CZ52 pistols, VZ52 rifles for example.

There are somethings going for the Garand however - the supply of collectible WWII and IHC rifles is gone. They are an excellent rifle - exc shooter, maintainible (parts and smiths avail), and plenty of variations. Plenty of shooting sports available for the owners also. Ammo, while not cheap, is available, usually of excellent quality, generally non-corrosive and re-loadible.