Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
127 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all
Im looking to buy 303 ammo, I see that SOG has 2 kinds. What would yall say is the better, the ammo on stripper clips or the ammo that is cordite. Had my rifle for years and have shot maybe 50 rnds. Bought my first batch from JG Sales years ago, that stuff was no good, RL headstamp 1945, have about 200 rounds that wont go bang, so im looking for some good ammo.
Thanks yall

·
Registered
15,274 Posts
Avoid the SOG "Greek" stuff at this point.
It is neither "Greek" nor worth a price premium IMHO.
Even if you settle for the "Kynoch" you'll get the brass is S&B, so you're not getting primo Brit ammo even then.

I started shooting Prvi Partizan exclusively a while back & have never regretted the decision.
Check "ammotogo.com" as they seem to have the best supply regularity & pricing & they are nice folks.

The 150 Gr isn't bad, but the 174Gr stuff will match your sight calibration better.

·
Registered
214 Posts
I bought 500 rounds on stripper clips expecting to get the British ammo they advertised, and got Kynoch. I was disappointed about that, and even though it is now much more expensive than it was even three years ago, its the cheapest ammo I can find, and to me its worth it for plinking. Some click...bangs, not accurate, and dirty...but still fun to shoot, and cheaper than anything else out there.

·
Registered
127 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I sorted the ammo i got from JG, the RL was bad but the ammo marked K52 seemed to work just fine, does this sound about right. I dont know anything about surplus ammo.

·
Registered
214 Posts

·
Registered
4,049 Posts
My mistake. I was under the impression from another board that Kynock wasn't British. I guess in that case, I'm not disappointed with SOG. No, the ammo is great, and yes, its more expensive than it used to be, but it is what it is.