Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
416 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I am new to the world of flintlocks, however I do know this, I must have one.
I'd like to use it for hunting, but would also like something close to the time period. I wouldn't mind anything in .50cal and up. Do you guys have any suggestions?

·
Registered
884 Posts

·
Registered
10,418 Posts
Really depends on what you want to do with it. Re-enact-then you really should get
either a repro-Brown Bess or Charleville-to do a Continental/Militia or Crown Forces impression, or a Pennsylvania/Kentucky style rifle. Those will take you from the Revolution up to the Mexican War. Mountain Man?-a Hawken style rifle. Do you want to be 100% historically correct or just "close enough"?
I would also recommend reading up on black powder and flintlocks before you buy, more to learn how they really work and the pitfalls you may encounter.

·
Registered
3 Posts
It depends on what you really want and can afford. There are several factory made flintlocks available in traditional longrifle style, hawken style, and military style.

INHO, if you can afford it a custom made rifle can be purchased in any style you prefer.

A good place to start would be at "track of the wolf" website, because they have both facrory and custom made fifles for sale.

·
Registered
416 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
Thank you for all of your input. I will be checking out Track of the Wolf. As far as my experience goes, I have shot a few and have now decided to take my first leap into it. I have been reading as much as possible on the subject, as of late, and was just wondering how you guys felt on the matter.

·
Registered
17 Posts