Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
663 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
An acquaintance on another forum is trying to build up his kit for the above pistol. I have no idea what the cleaning rod would look like, but I'm sure someone here does, so if that someone is you, we'd appreciate a photo so my acquaintance can build his kit.

·
Registered
3,472 Posts
Since no expert has responded I'll take a crack.
Note: I am NOT a Walther expert so this may not be correct............

As I remember, the Walther PP series guns came in various types of boxes with the gun, two magazines, the owner's manual, and a test target.
One magazine usually had a plastic finger extension and one with a flat bottom.
As I recall (note the qualifier) there was no cleaning rod or other accessories.

·
Registered
13,944 Posts
I have in the past couple of months obtained one of the first .22 caliber PPK/S pistols made (late 1960's. It came to me in a plastic box with the manual, the test target, and a total of five magazines (Four look to be Walthers, one is definitely aftermarket)). There were also two cleaning rods in the box.

I do not know if the two cleaning rods that came in the box with the gun were original to the rig, but there was one very thin diameter rod with a ring for a handle that had squarish notches at the end, evidently to hold a patch wrapped around it. The second rod was about 10%-15% shorter, made of twisted wire, with a larger ring for a handle, and a brass brush 'built into' the other end.

Like I said, I am not sure if either of these rods are original to the gun, but maybe this info can help you out.

·
Registered
663 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks, all. My PPK has the ring-handle cleaning rod, it's for the .380. The .22 ring handle is probably what the guy on the Walther Forum needs, but I haven't seen one on line. Up to me, I'd make one out of a welding rod.

·
Registered
13,944 Posts
For what its worth, I took some measurements.