Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2,986 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I had a gentleman offer me a Type 30, but I'm not an expert on them by any means. As far as I know it's a mismatch and is missing the cleaning rod, which I hear is a bit of an impossible item to find. Stock looks like it might be sanded, but again I'm not sure what the stock should look like. Only cartouche is a "70" under the forestock. Everything else is all there. Any thoughts? I'm not used to looking at rifles online to buy, so I don't want to miss over anything and get a subpar example. He was looking for $450, which I think may be the high end for it.

Thanks for the opinions!

·
Silver Bullet member
2,084 Posts
Not bad, but there's one on GB currently in very similar condition with cleaning rod with the same starting price ($450).

I can't tell from the photos about sanding, but the stock color definitely looks off to me.

·
Registered
2,986 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank you. The reason I asked about the sanding was due to the lip of the butt plate hanging off the stock a bit and how far the magazine and floorplate seem to stick out of the stock.

I just looked up the one on GB and the cleaning rod doesn't look to have the brass tip style. I was under the impression the Type 30's all used a cleaning rod with a brass tip.

·
Registered
3,215 Posts
I'm no subject matter expert on the Type-30's but everything looks ok to me. As for the cleaning rod, yes on the brass tip!

·
Registered
2,364 Posts