Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
110 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm relatively new to guns, but just got a british 303 rifle. Im used to shooting my Mauser and Mosin-nagants at about 25c a round and dont want to pay $1+ for ammo. I received about 150 rounds of mixed berdan primed surplus 303 with the gun, of which i shot a hundred rounds in two range sessions. I was looking into getting into reloading and wondered if there is any, clean (non-hydraulic method), economical (not the $80 rcbs tool) way to deprime these? and is there any priming tool that will work straight out of the box for berdan primers, or will I have to modify one? I was looking at getting a lee turret press. will this work for these primers without too much modification? Thanks for the answers

·
Diamond Member
13,476 Posts

·
Registered
13,944 Posts
The odds are that your once-fired military brass is going to use the .250" berdan primer, which hasn't been commercially available in the US for some time. Almost impossible to find.

You would do far better buying some Boxer-primed Privi Partizan, which you can get for a bit under $.75 a round (plus shipping) from a number of suppliers on the Internet. Check in with Gun-deals.com for 14 current, various, .303 offerings.

On the site, shipping is listed for the quantity ordered (typically one box, one package, or one case). This can mislead you as to the total cost per round. You can optimize your shipping cost by opening up an order form on the selected supplier's website and vary the number of boxes ordered from the site until the itemized shipping cost hits the next price level. (The last time I ordered 7.63 Mauser online, this 'step' happened at the sixth box. I ordered five.)

Don't think of it as $.75 a round. Think of it as $.35 a round to shoot, and $.40 a round (plus shipping) for the reloadable brass.