Gunboards Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
178 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
There may be a previous thread on this topic...perhaps not. Among the august group of collectors and authorities on the board what would you consider to be basis /basics of a Mauser rifle collection? You could break this down in terms of: beginner, intermediate, avanced..so on and so on. As an overall collection, however, what would be a must-have? Jim

·
Registered
658 Posts
Well, I know I'm a beginner with lots of silly questions. So far I have a Yugo rework 98k, 2 24/47's, an M48A, and two Turks, a 1903 and 1938. I've done pretty good in that I've managed to get all of them with the exception of the '38 Turk within the last few weeks (traded Mosin-Nagants for them). I think my next "must have" would be a "standard" (don't know how else to refer to it) 98k. Beyond that, I'd love to have a 24/52 (to round out my Yugo family), a vz24, an Argentine 1891, Spanish 1893, Swedish 1896 and a 98/22. It seems that the sky is the limit when it comes to Mausers. I picked up a copy of "Military Mausers of the World", and I want them all! :p

·
Gold Bullet member
1,533 Posts
Don't forget the Gewehr 98!! In my humble opinion, the Gewehr is one of most historied (is that a word?) and elegant of the mauser family. If you like your milsurps, long, sleek and dripping with combat history, don't miss the Gewehr.

T

·
Registered
7,503 Posts
Even though I don't have all of them yet I would say a basic Mauser collection is something like this:
Yugo Mauser
Turk Mauser
K98/G98 (russian capture or Yugo Capture or pure German)
and one really nice Mauser variant; Spanish, Swedish, Persian or Argentinian.

·
Copper Bullet member
395 Posts
M1891 Argentine
M1893 Spanish
M1895 Chilean
M1896 Swedish
Gew98
K98K
Yugo M48

·
Gold Bullet member
4,426 Posts
Generally speaking, one of each you can afford, then one of each you can find, then one of each you've ever heard of.