Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
743 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im sure this has been discussed on here before but I was unable to find it.
I am new to the Jap rifle collecting and feel they are under valued for a WW2 rifle.
My question is what is more important in collectability and value?
All matching with the mum, missing the dust cover or all matching with a ground mum and a matching dust cover? I have seen quite a few matching mum rifles but have only seen one rifle with a matching dust cover. I am trying to focus my collection on all matching rifles only. I just want to know what to look for.
thanks in advance

·
Registered
658 Posts
There are some other factors at play when determining value. Of course you pointed out full mum, defaced mum, or ground mum. Also there is if the rifle is supposed to have a dust cover does it match the serial number of the rifle (if for a type 99 anyway. Type 38s are a whole nother animal as they are matched by assembly numbers) and of course do all of the parts match the serial number (all bolt pieces, bayonet lug, and receiver). Also factors such as refinishing of the stock and missing accessories (monopod, cleaning rod, sling, etc.) can weigh on the value of a rifle. If you are lucky enough to find a rifle with bring back papers then those would increase the value of that particular rifle.

·
Registered
743 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I guess my question would be is you had the same rifle as far as condition and make/series would you rater have a all matching mumed rifle w/o a dust cover or all matching rifle with a ground mum and matching dust cover. this would be for t99 rifles only. thanks again

·
Registered
2,134 Posts
My goal is matching first(including correctly stamped stock). Then condition, and if it has it a mum is good but not the deal maker for me. Look at recent posts on this site. Discussion of the best reference books for the Arisaka collector.

·
Administrator
3,280 Posts