Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 20 of 159 Posts

·
Registered
4,559 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Has anyone ever experienced this before? My war booty 1941 Izhevsk was discharged today when out of battery although the firing pin spring was (is) going strong. The receiver rear took some damage and is now slightly tilted backwards.

More to follow. :(

·
Premium Member
1,811 Posts
CH: I've posted threads on forums up here in Canada asking SVT owners if they've had serious mechanical problems like what you experienced. I figured with a lot of the recent refurb imports being actively shot by (in part) non-sympathetic owners it might have revealed issues. So-far nothing has surfaced.

Ruprecht

·
Registered
4,559 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 · (Edited)
Thanks for replies.

I started shooting using my own handloads which all worked fine. I shot 35 rounds. The bullets were 124 gr Lapua S405 (.310") powdered by 2.95 grams of N130 which is roughly midrange load. I had S&B primers which are soft but I've never had troubles with them in Tigr or SVT as both have spring-loaded firing pin.

When I had finished shooting an older fellow wanted me to try his reloads. I wasn't really thrilled but didn't dare to refuse. He gave me two rounds first which I looked pretty closely. Brass was a bit tacky somehow (dried case lube?) and I asked him what powder there was in the cases. He told me it was N135 that the primers were "Federal Magnums". The bullets looked like 124 gr Lapua S374 (.308") due to distinctive crimping grooves. I didn't ask what charge he used as shaking the cartridges sounded like there was reasonable amount of powder. When I filled the magazine with them he suddenly gave me three more rounds. I put them into magazine too and started shooting.

The first three rounds went fine and ejection was similar to my own loads. Then, the slam fire took place. I sqeezed the trigger for fourth round which also discharged the fifth blowing some pressure right against my face.