Gunboards Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone,
Im new to the page and im seeking further information regarding a recently acquired Steyr 1896. If anyone could provide any information I would greatly appreciate it. Looking for year manufactured (stamped 1954) estimate of worth, cartridge, and who it was manufactured by! Thanks in advance!

·
Silver Bullet member
2,380 Posts
Yup, .303

The stock looks like it might be replaced, having the continental wood magazine fairing and the german style sling cutout. Not sure if that sling swivel arrangement was found on colonial carbines either. Handguard might be correct though.

Adding some pics comparing a .303 catridge to a 6.5x53r dutch cartridge with a piece of spent brass out of my Indonesian carbine to illustrate to odd chamber resulting from this conversion. Also a pic of the unmolested receiver markings on mine since most are ground.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Yup, .303

The stock looks like it might be replaced, having the continental wood magazine fairing and the german style sling cutout. Not sure if that sling swivel arrangement was found on colonial carbines. Handguard might be correct though.

Adding some pics comparing a .303 catridge to a 6.5x53r dutch cartridge with a piece of spent brass out of my Indonesian carbine to illustrate to odd chamber resulting from this conversion. Also a pic of the unmolested receiver markings on mine since most are ground.

hey mike thanks for the info however i was unable to view your attached pictures... also what would a rifle like this be worth?

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Yup, .303

The stock looks like it might be replaced, having the continental wood magazine fairing and the german style sling cutout. Not sure if that sling swivel arrangement was found on colonial carbines either. Handguard might be correct though.