Gunboards Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
658 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a very nice Yugo rework model 98. Would this be the appropriate forum to discuss it or should I be in the Military Mauser forum? I know it sounds silly but I want to be in the right forum.

Second silly question...I've heard references to a model m98 or 98/48. Is that what I have? On the side of the ring is says "Preduzece 44" with "Mod 98" on the side of the rail.

·
Gold Bullet member
7,131 Posts
You have a German issue WWII K98 Mauser that was converted post war by by the Yugo's.
Preduzece 44 was the name of the factory that did the conversion.
It, and you, belong here...

·
Registered
658 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
You have a German issue WWII K98 Mauser that was converted post war by by the Yugo's.
Preduzece 44 was the name of the factory that did the conversion.
It, and you, belong here...
Thanks for the welcome! I'm new to Mausers (a coverted Mosin addict) and I'm trying to learn all I can. I've picked up some good books and try to read the boards every day. In selling off and trading most of my Mosins I managed to acquire some beautiful Mausers...2 24/47's, an M48A, a 1903 Turk, and this k98, and it is the nicest of them all. When I traded for it I wasn't real sure what I was getting, and when it came in I was pleased, to say the least. I've done some close searching on it, and although I haven't had it apart I've found a couple of tiny Waffenamts on it. It's a beauty...I'll have to get come pictures up.

·
Gold Bullet member
7,131 Posts
Welcome aboard and I hear if you scrub your hands long enough with a stiff brush and lye soap, the grease off those Mosin's can be slowly removed!

·
Registered
658 Posts
Discussion Starter #5