Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
390 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A fellow is offering me this rifle for $950. Apparently the only thing not matching is the stock but otherwise looks pretty good. It would be my first k98 and I'm not knowledgeable enough to say if I'm paying too much or not. Here's some pictures I got. Ill be seeing the rifle in person before I buy it anyways.
Wood Metal Font Fashion accessory Household hardware
Wood Publication Cylinder Tints and shades Metal
Brown Wood Shotgun Trigger Publication
Tire Bicycle part Automotive tire Cylinder Nickel
Wood Metal Engineering Nickel Titanium
Water Liquid Sky Astronomical object Circle

Wood Cylinder Gun accessory Titanium Metal

·
Platinum Bullet Member
1,360 Posts
El paso.

·
Registered
5 Posts
I am no expert on mausers, but I have twelve. It is not worth 900 to me. I would place it in the 5 or 6 hundred dollar range. There are still plenty of mausers floating around and I would wait for one in better condition.

·
Registered
423 Posts
If it's worth that to you then get it. You could make it look a lot more correct with correct late war bands and not be out much money. The price, considering it's a very late rifle, isn't that far out of line and not above market at all. It all depends on whether you want it. Me, I'd try to snag for a little less but I'd still snag it as an affordable 1945 rifle if you don't have a '45 dated rifle. I'd do it! Price is fair enough for what it is.

·
Registered
390 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 · (Edited)
I do want a decent first K98 for the collection but if its worth less than what he's asking I'm not going to bother. I'm fine with waiting there's plenty out there. I don't have an issue paying $1,000 for a pretty decent one assuming it's worth that or more. I just don't want to make a wrong move.

·
Platinum Bullet Member
1,360 Posts
Good decision. This example is far from decent.

Reactions: timmct and tbird255

·
Registered
390 Posts