Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,
First I would like to explain my Moniker,"DemoDon" to any and all who don't like my name.I'm not a Macho blow it up guy,or a Navy Seal.-I work as a Construction Laborer(Union),and for a living I gut the insides of all kinds of commercial buildings down to the bare walls,by cutting,smashing,burning(torches),etc,and out with all the trash.

NOW,that I got that out of the way........I have several problems with my Star A,I could use some help or advice with,as I like the gun,and really do not want to scrap it.

I replaced the Hammer spring with a new OEM one-ok there. I noticed that my firing pin was alittle off center,and it would hang up in the slide.I shot some OLD surplus 9mm Largo ammo thru it,that I got at a gunshow(dated 1945) well,the primers were so hard in that ammo,it actually bent my firing pin!
If as that was not enough,After I put the new hammer spring in,i could not get the safety to stay in place,the safety detent pushes it out!-I ordered a new safety&detent and detent spring, thinking a larger diameter shaft on the safety would keep it in place,But-NO!-It will not stay in, still pops out.-It looks like when it was assembled,the hole in the frame was"staked" abit to hold the safety in.

So now I have 2 problems with the gun-looks like I need a new firing pin now,and the safety will not stay in place!
Any advice is greatly appreciated,does anyone know a gunsmith who is good with Star Super guns?-or someone who can make a new firing pin?,or anyone who has a firing pin they want to part with?-I have heard that the Star A firing pins are different diameters.-Mine is around 4 mm,but have heard guns were assembled with 5,and 6mm firing pins also-which makes it even More frustrating.

This is getting expensive,not to mention buying parts that are not even the Fix!-I wish I would have bought a mdl 1911 Now!!
thanks for listening,
Don

·
Registered
32 Posts