Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
939 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Ok... I was under the impression that all No. 4 rifles made by Savage were part of the Lend/Lease program to England and stamped "U.S. Property" on the receiver. Anyway, I believe this No. 4 is made by Savage since it is stamped with 'S' but I thought it odd that it lacks the property stamp.

It also has some odd stamps in the wood (like a star). Anyway, hopefully the attached pictures will be clear enough so all you Lee-Enfield experts can get a decent look at it.

Oh, and by the way, you can see in one of the pics that there is a M47C stamp on the bolt - which I thought was BSA, yet the bolt number matches the rifle. Anyway, I'm a little confused.

Any information is greatly appreciated!

Attachments

·
Copper Bullet member
2,668 Posts
Hello Kurz. I am by no means an expert, however, it looks like a Savage that was owned by Pakistan or India. Pretty cool unit markings and such too! How is the bore. Are you going to shoot it? Range report please if you do. Regards, Rick.

·
Registered
939 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
So then Savage made rifles for other countries other than England? I thought the Pakistan rifles were made in Pakistan by POF. I probably won't shoot it - at least not until I can check the headspace on it. This poor thing looks like its been through quite a bit - gouges here and there on the wood, considerable wear and tear on the metal, etc. But I do like that little star stamp...

I am going to take it completely apart and clean it over the next few days. This may sound odd but I think I enjoy taking these mil-surps apart and cleaning them as much as I do going to the range.

Oh... and why would a BSA bolt be on a Savage? I mean, I could understand it if the bolt number didn't match the gun but it matches.

Then again, if it sounds like I don't know anything about Lee-Enfields, its because I don't - lol!

·
Gold Bullet member
435 Posts