Gunboards Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
221 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
just picked up a nice m95 steyr carbine today , seems like when you **** the bolt the safety only engauges if you push foward on the trigger , is this normal? im new to these rifles . will post pictures later. thanks. tjm22shot54

·
Super Moderator
11,673 Posts
To engage safety you have to pull the cocking piece slightly back.

·
Registered
697 Posts
You shouldn't have to move the cocking piece or the trigger at all to engage the safety with the striker cocked or uncocked.

·
Registered
221 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
nick was right about the bolt piece, it does work but does not seem normal for a safety operation, could there be a problem with the safety? tjm22shot54

·
Super Moderator
11,673 Posts
nick was right about the bolt piece, it does work but does not seem normal for a safety operation, could there be a problem with the safety? tjm22shot54
It's OK, don't worry. This action pulls back the firing pin, that's why you either have to push very hard on the safety, or pull the cocking piece a bit.

The same principle is true when applying the safety on the Steyr 1912 pistol - you have to pull the hammer further back from the cocked position before you could put it on "Safe".

·
Registered
221 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
thanks guys for the help, will post a picture of the steyr 95, this one is in very good condition nice stock. tjm22shot54

·
Platinum Bullet Member
2,761 Posts
It's OK, don't worry. This action pulls back the firing pin, that's why you either have to push very hard on the safety, or pull the cocking piece a bit.

The same principle is true when applying the safety on the Steyr 1912 pistol - you have to pull the hammer further back from the cocked position before you could put it on "Safe".