Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
:confused: A friend of mine has a Smith and Wesson 38 Special Model 10-7 his granddaddy bought in 1978. It has a 2 inch barrel. He wants to know if he can shoot magnum rounds in it? And does +P on the bullet description mean extra pressure? (I was curious about that). I'm still new to guns so I am trying to learn myself.

·
Banned
10,840 Posts
Do you mean 0.357 Magnum? No, it should not fit into the cylinder.

+P and +P+ you can use from time to time. If you use them all the time, the revolver will blow up because it is not designed to withstand the regular use of +P and of +P+ ammunitions.

·
Registered
400 Posts
Your friend's revolver, chambered for .38 Special, will not blow up if fed a constant diet of +P ammunition - it will wear out quicker, most likely developing cylinder endshake (fore and aft movement of the cylinder at full lock up) sooner than it feed nothing but standard pressure ammo. How quick is a point of contention, but I believe he will find standard pressure ammunition easier on the wallet, ears and gun.

+P does mean more pressure, the max. allowable pressure as published by the Sporting Arms and Ammunition Manfacturer's Institute (SAAMI) for .38 Special is 17000 PSI, +P .38 Special is 18,500 PSI - U.S. Manufacturers adhere to these limits, and its important to note there are no published limits for +P+.

Your friend may find that his revolver is most accurate with 158gr standard velocity ammunition, that is what the factory regulated the sights for and its what most of my Model 10's shoot best.

·
Registered
932 Posts
Will5a1 has it right--+P ammunition isn't going to 'blow up' one's weapon, just wear it out more rapidly. It's like constantly coming to a screeching stop in one's automobile--the tires will wear out faster, but the car won't explode.