Gunboards Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey All -

I recently picked up one of the Ethiopian contract FN24 Carbines from RTI.
It arrived with a badly cracked handguard, that finished breaking completely when I stripped the rifle down to clean it up.
Here are pics of the damaged/now broken handguard. Now it is completely broken at the rear of the handguard AND is still cracked toward the front of the handguard...

I either need to repair this or replace this with a compatible handguard from another Mauser.
Anyone here have any idea what model of Mauser carbines are of the same pattern and for which the handguard might be compatible with my FN24 carbine?

Alternately - does anyone have any advice on how to repair the existing handguard? I am a woodworking novice, so if I cannot locate a suitable handguard replacement, I will need to hire someone to repair it. Are any boardies around these parts known as the 'Go-To' person for making these kinds of repairs?

have a great weekend all!

·
Registered
1,604 Posts
GOVTMOD
That hand guard will not work. the sight cut out is about right but the rest of it different. There were very few contracts for the 1924 carbine with a short 17.5" barrel. Besides the contract for Abyssinia (Ethiopia) the only other contracts that I can think of off hand were for China and for the Kingdom of the Serbs, Croats, & Slovens. I have one of the Chinese contracts and it too is broken. I have finally come to the realization that I will have to repair it. I will probably have to graft some wood on to the back left side and glue a crack. The only other thought I have is to find a Model 1930 hand guard and graft a longer piece to the front from the rear band out to the upper band. I'm not even sure that will work.
Be Well
Dan

·
Registered
176 Posts
I see. i haven't seen a 1924 carbine up close. If a pic of the full item was posted I might have seen the difference.

·
Registered
533 Posts