Gunboards Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
112 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi, I just bought a Springfield trapdoor with a solid steel rod jammed down the center of the barrel. The price was fine just for a wall hanger but i'd like to get the rod out no matter what. Cant think of anyway, but to remove the barrel. I know the tang unscrews but i believe the barrel will have to come of anyway. I cant find a action wrench for it. I have some experience rebarreling, but not a trap door. Any on the point advice regarding barrel removal would be helpful.
thanks scott

·
Registered
4,795 Posts
Remove the breech block, takedown lever, extractor spring and plunger before even thinking about trying to remove the barrel. Be careful when removing the extractor,extractor spring and plunger. That little spring can launch the spring and plunger into outer space never to be seen again. Best to stick a towel or heavy wash rag over these parts before removal. Don't ask how I know this. 74 year old knees don't take kindly to crawling on the floor with a flashlight. Frank

·
Registered
112 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Its all taken down and i have everything. That being said when i look in the parts bag i bet something is missing. I believe the barrel is full of lead and that/s not coming out. The rifle looks unfired other than that. Did anyone years ago sell Trapdoors with the barrels filled solid?
thanks
scott

·
Registered
223 Posts
" I believe the barrel is full of lead "...............a propane torch, applied gently' can remove this without damage to the rifle.

·
Registered
223 Posts
"621.5 F lead melts at. Will that de temper the barrel. "..............most 'solder' melts at about 400 deg. (some as low as 320 deg.). most steels will start to 'temper' at bout 600 deg.

·
Registered
2,307 Posts
I would entertain sourcing a replacement barrel. They are out there.