Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
489 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was wondering if someone can tell me how to remone the safety switch on the cz-52? I have been asking alot of questions lately. I am new to this pistol and want to know as much as I can. Any help would be greatly apreciated. Thank you. John

·
Silver Bullet member
1,030 Posts
Safety

First, remove the grip panels by popping the spring clip that retains them off. Lacking one of my Grip clip flippers,

work a thin flat screwdriver up between the backstrap of the frame and the clip, and carefully lever it back and off.

These clips break very easily.

You can also work the clip off from the ends with a coin or a cartridge rim; just try not to scratch the grips.
When the clip comes loose, it is apt to fly on you, so arrange for it to hit something soft in a conveniently close area.

If the grips stick, put a pinky finger up inside the magazine well and poke them outward and off.

The top of the left grip panel is about all that holds the safety in.

Then turn the safety lever straight down and gently pull the lever and attached drum out.

Watch out that the helical spring that engages the detents (little notches) around the drum and makes it "snap" into the safe and fire positions does not drop out and get lost or get out of position.

This same spring draws down on the magazine release / slide catch bar with it's other end, and can be a little tricky to get back in properly.

The hammer pivot screw hole is right next to the red dot for the safety.

The safety goes into the larger hole a bit below and to the left of that.
The longer bent leg of the spring lays along the bottom of that hole in a little groove.