Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’m a Mak noob and was wondering why I see so many people changing the factory recoil spring to something heavier. I’ve always thought the Russians had a pretty good handle on how to build a reliable, robust gun and that would include knowing what weight spring to use in a blow back pistol. If the Russians thought that 17 pounds was adequate, why change? Particularly since it appears that the majority of the available ammo is somewhat less powerful then that for which the pistol was originally designed.

·
Registered
3,323 Posts
I have a little over 2k of Spanish .380 that is in the Corbon, '+P' range. It was loaded in the 80's as self-defense ammo and was never meant to be the steady diet of any pistol.

So, I installed a 19# spring in my Arsenal mak when the stock spring wore out. This ammo is hot, even when compared to "full, military power" 9x18 :D (sorry guys, had to do it). So the extra power spring ought to protect my sidearm from any excess wear.

Some guys also like to shoot the heavier bullets in 9x18. And since the mak was designed to fire a 95gr projectile, the extra power spring probably helps there, as well.

·
Registered
254 Posts
I've have several Mak's that are fired alot. Probably more than they would be in military service(carried alot, shot little). The factory springs seem to get weak very fast and the brass is thrown into orbit after several thousand rounds. I do not shoot bullets over 95 gr. but even the 93gr. cast bullets with mild loads after awhile really slam the slide. I use Wolf #19 springs exclusively in the Mak I carry and those that I shoot alot. The #19 doesn't seem to have any problems with standard, hot and target loaded ammo, but brass doesn't fly like it does with the #17. I'm a handloader and shooting the Mak is an exercise in frustration trying to capture flying brass. Just my $.02...............Mike

·
Registered
1,646 Posts