1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
480 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Topic author: mkamer
Subject: Range visit with 19# spring
Posted on: 06/07/2006 01:34:02 AM

Took my Russian Mak with it's new 19# spring from makarov.com to the range today and really enjoyed it. Maybe it's just me but the 19# spring seemed to make a big difference in recoil. Mak felt easier to get back on target after each round. I'm a happy newbie! Now I just need to keep working on accuracy.

BTW, if anyone doesn't yet have a magazine loader from makarov.com, you must invest a few bucks in one. Makes a huge difference in an enjoyable shoot.

Replies:

Reply author: esignup
Replied on: 06/07/2006 02:49:03 AM
Mine (mag loader) is on the way also from Makarov.com , although I placed an order for the 21# spring.
I'll try to post a before and after (spring change) report also.

Question... the spring change was smooth? I just got my Bulgie... got it today!

esignup

Reply author: mkamer
Replied on: 06/07/2006 2:28:20 PM
The spring change is a snap. Take the slide off and remove the recoil spring surrounding barrel, replace with new spring. Note the the springs ends are different. The narrower side goes on first. Easy mods like this are part of the brilliance of the Makarov design. It's just plain simple and effective. (And that's good for this new guy. )

Reply author: logansdad
Replied on: 06/07/2006 10:42:18 PM
Like mkamer says, parts changes on the Mak are a snap. The hardest thing I've ever encountered was reseating the triggerguard pivot pin after a barrel change. Now that is an absolute monster! Second hardest is the extractor removel and reinstallation, but even it is relatively easy with some practice.

Reply author: Teakwood
Replied on: 06/08/2006 07:32:40 AM
I too find that the 19# spring lessens the shock and seems to make it easier to keep the pistol on target.

Replied on: 06/08/2006 07:53:21 AM