Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Silver Bullet Member
1,412 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The first pic is a before shot, second is after I cleaned it up. My question is about the obvious holes in the receiver. Was this an attemp to mount a scope on this rifle? Was it Bubba or and actual sniper rifle. Any info would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Hillger

Attachments

·
Silver Bullet Member
1,412 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
this is tho only pic of the whole gun right now. All matching, except for front stock band, bent bolt handle. Also, missing stock disk.

Attachments

·
Registered
1,576 Posts
Hi Hillger,
Well I am not an expert but IMHO it looks like an early M41 sniper. The thing I find strange is that it was made by Husqvarna. From what I hear they are somewhat a rarity. I am sure Swede or Dutchman will by "chiming in " here shortly.

·
Moderator/Diamond with Oak Clusters Bullet member
9,201 Posts
Good question : First , it appears to have had an early sniper base for one of the AGA scopes & the base was attached for some time from the marking on the receiver . The HVA M-96's went to civilian shooters . I have heard there were HVA snipers , but none have shown up to date . Also , a HVA M-96 should have a 600,000 serial number . Looks like a 5 digit number , unless one number is drilled out . That leaves us with the possibility of a replacement receiver . That would explain a 5 digit serial number & a HVA receiver . To bad the bolt does not match . It should be white for an AGA scope & torch bent down . My guess it was legit at one time .

·
Premium Member
105,711 Posts
That's really neat to see an HVA sniper. Always heard about them, but like Swede said, I've never seen one.

·
Silver Bullet Member
1,412 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·