Gunboards Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Last weekend I picked up a dust cover for my early Type 99. The DC has a metal tab on the inside which I assume is to keep the bolt from wearing out the cover when pulled back. When I try to install the cover it appears to be too long. It looks to me that the forward right side of the cover is hitting the stock and preventing it from sliding forward enough to close the bolt. Im a complete novice about these things. Is the cover for some other type Arisaka or does the the covers for the 99 have a notch in them? I really don't want to cut the stock or cover to make it fit.
DSC_0167.jpg DSC_0168.jpg DSC_0170.jpg DSC_0171.jpg DSC_0172.jpg DSC_0173.jpg

·
Platinum Bullet member
18,989 Posts
Your cover is for a T-38 rifle.
I never install mismatched covers as these were hand fitted and will probably mess up the finish on your receiver.
If you notch the wood to make it fit you will qualify as a "bubba"

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the replies, I'll keep it for now and maybe trade it for one that fits. No worries about the stock, my 99 is too pretty to chop up. I don't do the Bubba thing.

·
Platinum Bullet member
18,989 Posts
What is the arsenal and series of your rifle. It may have never had a dust cover.
Even if it is supposed to have one, it's not worth the potential damage to the bluing.

·
Gold Bullet member
1,332 Posts
What is the arsenal and series of your rifle. It may have never had a dust cover.
Even if it is supposed to have one, it's not worth the potential damage to the bluing.
AD has some good advice. Too many novices think they need to "enhance" thier new "to them" Japanese rifle with all the Bells and whistles, not realizing that those features might not have been on that particular series of rifle.
(Yes, I did have oldsmobile tail light lenses on my '53 ford, but that was in 1960, and I was a Ute!)

Dean (the other one)

·
Registered
57 Posts