Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
2,495 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to the Makarov pistol and very interested in Russian and East German PMs.

Regarding Russian military PMs, I learned that the safety on early productions (before 1967?) had serial number on.

Are those early version PMs more collectible in the US? do they have better quality (compared to later years productions)?

Thank you.

·
Registered
285 Posts
Overall, I wouldn't say they're more collectible. True Soviet PMs are all very collectible as they never were (officially) imported into the country. In terms of value, war bringback's usually command a bit more coin than the Russian Sneak's. Then you have details like matching serials, import markings(Or lack thereof), Etc.. And yes, date of production does certainly always factor in. From what I've seen, I would say the fit and finish are often a bit nicer on the earlier production PM's.

·
Gold Bullet member
1,099 Posts
Overall, I wouldn't say they're more collectible. True Soviet PMs are all very collectible as they never were (officially) imported into the country.

Where did you get this information? I guess the 3 with US import stamps in my safe are my imagination. Unfortunately, The importation of Maks from Russian are now banned from importation.

·
Registered
291 Posts
You are correct. 1967-1968 was the transition period between number-stamping and electropenciling serial numbers on safety levers.

Another major safety redesign was made mid-production in 1966, during the "LG" or "ЛГ" block and somewhere around the 5060-5755th pistol of that block, where a spring guide hole was drilled completely through the safety lever as a simplification.