Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
277 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking at an Imperial German bayonet made in WWI. It has what appears to be all the proper and expected German markings, cypher, etc. But it also has a four digit numeral stamped on the ricasso. What would be the meaning of the 4 digit number and why would it have that? It's not in the format of the typical regimental marking and it's clearly stamped. It's also not 1920, by the way, and does not appear to be a date. It looks more like the numeric stamp you typically see on WWII bayonets, but has no letter suffix.

I've noticed more than one like this, so I'm sure some of you guys will know the explanation. I'm still relatively new with my bayonet interests and continuing with my learning curve.

·
Registered
1,929 Posts
That may be the case Carl, but I suspect from the description that it is one of a group of 98/05 bayonets with matching ricasso and scabbard serial numbers like the one below belonging to our mate Sawdoc, in this case marked on the reverse of the ricasso and the reverse of the scabbard.

In addition to that one I have recorded four others marked like it in the same style:

[A] one marked '6078' on the reverse ricasso and the reverse of the scabbard
one marked '1516' on the reverse of the scabbard, and '2289' on the
obverse of the ricasso, but in a somewhat different font and style than what is used on the others.
[C] one marked
'174' on the reverse of the scabbard, and (according to the seller) also on the obverse of the ricasso (this is the only example I know of that is also '1920' marked).
[D] one marked '1681' on the reverse ricasso.

Photographs and other details of all of these can be seen at:
http://1914-1918.invisionzone.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=210098&hl=