Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Copper Bullet member
4,066 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So yeah... I got saddled with a fake type 30, and paid a full $75 for it. I should've seen it coming when the pawnshop owner took $75 for what seemed like a $120ish Tokyo Kokura bayo, but I'm new to the Arisaka and extremely new to the bayonets so I fell prey to the "Oh look, three circles, it must be the real thing" thought process. Now the question is: what kind of price could I possibly get for this accursed thing? Also, is there any way in hell that I can force this onto my T99 w/o damaging the rifle?

·
Platinum Bullet member
19,391 Posts
Mount it on a plaque with a tag that says "Never Again"
Then go spend a few bucks on some books or hang out here for a while so you don't get suckered again. Keep it off your rifle - no point in dicking up the finish.

·
Silver Bullet member
2,412 Posts
I wouldn't expect to get much for it at all let alone find someone interested. I don't get the new wave of reproductions of common bayonets for arisakas k98s and US stuff, it not like originals are hard to find or expensive. Sure many you see are expensive, but it will take little time to find any of them for under $100. You should have no problem finding a decent type 30 bayonet for $80 you just have to poke around a little online and more so at gunshows fleamarkets and the like. Do a search on bayonets on this board and you should come up with plenty of reference photos to help familiarize yourself. As far as your bayonet goes it can be used to open mail, slice pizza, cut cake ( I recommend cleaning it) and skewer useless inamnimate objects

·
Copper Bullet member
4,066 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·