Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I bought a 1943 PU sniper and the scope had "jumppy" reticule. When I turned the windage adjustment, the reticule jumped up or down about 3 moa.....
I replaced the 2 leather gaskets and, the problem remained. So it's a play in the mechanism, the slides that travel in the reticule.
I studied the schematics and the goods tuto on the site and I had an idea to try.

I disassemble the scope today. It was not too hard with all the good infos I found here.
I had an idea to take up the slack in the reticule. I put a piece of surgical tubing on the opposite side of the turrets.
(UPDATE: I used 5mm OD tubing and filled the center hole with an appropriate size elastic piece to add more ''spring'').
It act like a spring in the modern scope. Always pushing the reticule against the adjustments turrets taking out any gap.
Nothing to lose to try.
It worked perfectly! Now everything is always even and tight.
Also, I when I make an adjustment, I always stop the knob while unscrewing. This way, the reticule push against the rubber spring and it's more regular this way.
Just want to share my experience to help others.
Thanks
Mat
Hand Green Camera lens Finger Lens
Calipers Pneumatic tool Tool Drill Power tool
Rectangle Font Parallel Engineering Technical drawing
Font Line Engineering Parallel Auto part

·
Premium Member
1,297 Posts
My friend, this maybe genius and cheap solution to extremely annoying problem. I have one scope which may use this fix! Now, is this solution holding up against recoil from 7.62x54r?
Matt, is this standard size for that medical tubing (easy to buy it)?

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I bought it on eBay a while ago. It's 5mm but, I think 7mm should be better. I guess anything springy should work.
I put a drop of super glue to hold the tube in place but, as the side of the reticule is H shape , the tubing can't go anywhere for sure.

·