Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys... I was at a local gun show on Saturday and picked up a SMLE No1 Mk3. This is a CAI import from India, I'm not an expert on these , but from what little I know it seems to be an Ishapore made rifle.
The problem I'm having is that the safety will not rotate into the safe position when the rifle is cocked, it will when the rifle is decocked. I took the bolt out and checked to see if the safety was functioning properly and I can see the two points closing when the safety is rotated with the bolt out.

So I examined the cocking piece and tried to compare it to images I found on the web.

If you look at the diagram I found , this example shows a cocking piece with two cutouts where the safety can be engaged in the cocked and decoked position. On my rifle there is only the rear cutout, the forward cutout is missing. You can even see marks where someone tried to engage the safety where no cutout exists.

Is this just a random defective part, or did the knuckleheads at CAI use an incorrect part? or am I wrong about the cutout being necessary to engage the safety?

Any help would be appreciated, thanks

·
Copper Bullet member
574 Posts
That picture is of a No. 4 safety, not an SMLE safety. They are similar but not exactly the same.

Your safety is probably just assembled incorrectly. There are several points on which the safety catch (19) can be screwed onto the locking bolt (18) but only one of them is correct. The correct location should allow the catch to rotate just slightly past vertical alignment with the locking bolt.

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
That picture is of a No. 4 safety, not an SMLE safety. They are similar but not exactly the same.