Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
For my first post I have an unusual request I think is particularly well suited to the members of this forum. In the process of digging for more ancient artifacts, university students uncovered cartridge cases from the 1948 Arab-Israeli war. One of the students was asked to write a paper on this modern archeology find. I am a forensic scientist by profession, but this student has asked for my help in identifying the cartridge cases. I think members of the forum can help with the largest group of cartridge cases.

The most common type of cartridge cases at the site were 8mm Mauser of Czech origin, manufactured in 1947 and 1948. The quantity suggests they were fired from a machine gun, The impression left on the primer indicates the machine gun had an unusual oval shaped firing pin I am hoping will be recognized by this group.

It is well established that the Israelis purchased large quantities of arms and ammunition from Czechoslovakia, including thousands of MG34s. However, I was able to find a picture of a MG34 breech face and it didn't seem consistent with the oval firing pin impressions. Other Czech guns like the ZB26 or VZ37 (or a Besa left behind by the Brits) are also good candidates. Really, any 8mm Mauser machine gun manufactured before 1948 is possble. I have found a few unexpected cartridge cases in the mix, so an unexpected machine gun would be no great shock.

Please take a look at the attached photo and tell me if you recognize this firing pin impression. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

·
Platinum Bullet Member
3,419 Posts
I don't think you will be able to identify the gun more precisely than to say that the cartridge was fired in a Czech-designed machine gun.

The ZB26, ZB30, ZB37, Bren, Besa, and probably others used a D-profiled firing pin.

M

·
Registered
1,806 Posts