Gunboards Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Any one know how many were made in 1864,I HAVE A PISTOL THATS GAS OPERATING AND EJECTS THE CARTRIDGE AS ITS BEIN FIRED USING ITS OWN GAS COMPRESSION TO DO THIS,HE MADE BIKES THEN GUNS AS EARLY AS 1856, IVE RESEARCHED TO. EBONY HANDLE,ETCHING RUBBED OFF TO OBVIOUSLY DISGUISE,IM NO EXPERT BUT WHEN YOU PULL A TRIGGER THAT TELLS YOU SO MUCH ON ITS ACTION AND BOY THIS IS A SMOOTH ACTION.RESEARCHING NOW FOR TWO YEARS AND YOU JUST GET SMALL BITS WHICH YOU HAVE TO TRY AND PUT TOGETHER.I HAVE A PISTOL I BELEIVEIS AN ORIGINAL 1864 ORBEA PROTOTYPE WHICH NOT MANY WERE MADE,ANY WAY ANY INFO WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED,I KNOW NOTHING ABOUT GUNS OTHER THEN THE ORBEA SO PLEASE EXCUSE ANY IGNORANVE IN ADVANCE.ANY HELP APPRECIATED I LOVE A MYSTERY

·
Diamond with Oak Clusters Bullet Member
23,298 Posts
I am in the same situation as you. I have two of these pistols (two different calibers), but have never been able to find any information on them. Orbea Hermanos has a long history. They supplied black powder revolvers to the Confederates during the Civil War, and continued making firearms up until the late 1920s, early 1930s.

This gas advance and ejection system is quite unique, and I am glad to hear of someone else that has encountered one.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Your revolver must be one of this two Spanish gas self-ejecting revolvers:

In 1876 the Spanish artillery officer Luis Ibarra patented a gas ejecting revolver. It was tried by Spanish Army, but not adopted. It was based upon S&W Russian revolver, but some were made starting with Spanish Army Lefaucheux model 1863 revolver at Oviedo Arms Factory. Apparently some of them were also made by Orbea.