Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
110 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi all i am new to enfield rifles so i got som qestions : i hawe number matching inkluded magasine rifle marked : m47c . 1943. it also hawe an t one the side and an s one the other side. it hawe an scope marked tel stg no 32 mk3. does it sound right? :confused:

·
Gold Bullet member
11,670 Posts
Yes, sounds correct. Under the serial (under the M47C) should be "TR".

Buttstock should have "S51" on the toe behind the grip. Buttstock should have a raised cheek piece held on by two screws. Rear sight should have the battle sight ring milled off.

·
Registered
110 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yes, sounds correct. Under the serial (under the M47C) should be "TR".

Buttstock should have "S51" on the toe behind the grip. Buttstock should have a raised cheek piece held on by two screws. Rear sight should have the battle sight ring milled off.
hi thank you fore the answer. boath the tr and s51 is here and also a raised cheek piece. it also hawe a woden transport case and an leater sling and some other stuff. :)

·
Gold Bullet member
11,670 Posts
Sounds like you have the real deal! Pictures, please.

·
Gold Bullet member
11,670 Posts
It's a mark put on by Holland & Holland once they custom fit new stocks to the No4(T) rifles they converted. No idea what it means, other than that most H&H snipers with original buttstocks will have this mark.

·
Registered
286 Posts
As I understand it, during WW2 each manufacturer was given a code to try and stop the Germans finding a rifle with H&H on it looking up a street directory and then bombing the H&H factory.
The code consisted of the area of the country (S=south, M=midlands, N=north) followed by an assigned number.
So BSA was M (midlands) 47 (BSA), and C was factory 3 Shirley.

·
Gold Bullet Member/Moderator/Administrator/
27,927 Posts
S51