Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, sorry if this question seems stupid, but I'm just starting out reloading and want to be safe. I'm using a Lee turrent press with an auto powder feeder. I want to reload 38 special with 125 grain semi jacketed hollow point. Im using (or want to use) SR 4756 powder. Most of the loading charts I've seen call for a charge of 4.8 grains of this powder. When I charged the casing it looked like a lot of empty space in the casing. Even if the bullet were seated it would be a lot of empty space at that charge. I emptied the casing onto my scale and got 4.8 grains. Is this normal? should there be empty space in the casing? Does not seem right to me, but then again I'm just starting with zero experience.
Thanks for any feed back.

·
Gold Bullet Member
22,553 Posts
Yes, there should be empty space in the case. Do you have a reloading manual? What is the make/model of your scale?

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for the replies! I have Lyman's Third Edition Pistol & Revolver Handbook, my scale is a Lee Safety Measure scale, and I'm using a Lee Auto-Disk powder measure on my press. Just wanted to make sure everything was working like it should. The powder measure appears to be charging the right amount, it just through me off when I saw so much room in the casing!.
Thanks again!

·
Banned
1,312 Posts