Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, I'm brand new to collecting so pardon me if this topic has been discussed or resolved. I've done a fair amount of reading on the topic but can't seem to get a solid read on what exactly I just purchased. :)

I bought a beautiful gun. It's probably the nicest condition I've seen for a Lee Enfield. Seems to have coachwood furniture. All serial numbers match including the one of the back of the site and end of the fore barrel. It's tight as can be. Looks parkerized. Don't see any paint anywhere. The furniture is virtually flawless aside from a few stamps. There's a tiny bit of rust on the inside of the magazine. Otherwise it's damp with oil and pristine. Bolt seems smooth. I am most curious what ya'll think about this rifle and whether you think it will need the recoil plates I've read about. I really want to use this gun regularly. I'd love to hear your thoughts. Can't wait to begin the adventure of collecting old milsur! I have more photos I will attach in another post. Also, I've yet to see a 1945 anywhere online yet...

·
Registered
165 Posts
look up the JJCO NY NY company. I believe thy made ,from new old stock parts, this and other "NEW" firearms. i think they where a police supply company in New York City USA. NICE LOOKER ! and do get the shims.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
View attachment 2321138 View attachment 2321146 View attachment 2321154

They all match A98703. I'm a bit scared (as a newbie) to take it apart to see if it has the shims. I've some posts from guys on here who say not to take them apart unless you absolutely need to. Is there any way to determine if it has the recoil blocks without completely dismantling?

·
Registered
867 Posts
Its a JJCO parts gun. They imported a large number of spare parts and complete rifles into the U.S when Australia sold off their surplus Lee Enfields.