Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

· Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi All,

First post for me here. I'm new to collecting Mosins but I've been reading up on them for a while. I finally gave in and ended up buying three Mosins this weekend.

Here's what I got:

1. 1947 M44 Izzy with all matching serials except butt plate of the rifle. Non refurbished "original" condition with excellent like new bore and blonde stock with some moderate wear. PAID $140 out the door.

2. Triple Dated Izzy Ex-Dragoon 1923/45/53...MO marked...laminated stock...early WW 2 stock...absolutely beautiful in every way including excellent bore. Came with sling/bayo /accessory kit. All matching serials. PAID $115 out the door.

3. Double Dated Izzy Ex-Dragoon 1927/53 ...MO marked...laminated stock...same as above without early WW2 stock but laminated, etc. All matching serials. Also with sling/ bayo/ accessory kit. PAID $115 out the door.

So....since I'm new...how did I do? I feel like I overpaid for the M44 but it was an old guy who said it was from his collection...said it shoots awesome...etc, etc. Maybe I fell for the pitch but I liked that it was not refurbished and also that it was a private party transfer instead of a gun shop purchase.

· Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Ok...there's my pics.

Did I describe these correctly? The triple stamp is hard to read in the photo but you can see it pretty clearly in person.

Next question...should I clean these or leave them "authentic" with cosmoline in the barrel, etc.?

· Registered
918 Posts
The price on the '47 M44 was high, but I wouldn't feel bad over a few bucks... the '46-'48 M44s are really nice and low production years too. The other two were certainly priced right.