Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As the title says I am a newbie to the forum and to Mosin Nagant rifles. I have a couple of questions.

First I have been around fire arms for over 50 years and shoot regularly. I am a CCW permitee and have more experience with handguns than rifles.

I took one of my two M91/30's to the range today. Don't start, my wife is already ragging on me about two old rifles. She doesn't understand. They were $99 each at Big 5 so I bought two.

I was able to hold a 2 inch group @ 100 yds. with iron sights. The only problem is the group was low right. When I got home I drifted the front sight and will try it again next week. What do I do about the LOW? I am reasonably sure that I can compensate with the real sight elevation but I don't think I should have to a 100 yds. How do I adjust the front sight for elevation?

The next problem is the bolt is very difficult to unlock after the round has been fired. It feels good (to me) with or with out a round in the chamber. As with all my guns it is squeeky clean and newly lubricated. The headspace appears to be OK and the firing pin neatly fits in the middle space of the gauge provided. I really have to hit the bolt hard with the heal of my hand to unlock the bolt after firing a round. How to I remedy the problem?

Other than the couple of problems listed, the rifle is a lot of fun. Out of the 10 rounds I had 4 within a 1/4 inch side by side by side, like a clover leaf. Amazing for a 70 year old rifle.

Thanks

·
Banned
10,843 Posts
You can make the front sight post lower. You can file it down or you can replace it with a nail and file the nail down to what you need.

As far as bolt. The only thing I can think of is polish the mating surfaces. The recoil drives all the parts backwards and tries to compress them. The motion of opening the bolt is perpendicular to the direction of the recoil. There is not much you can do about that.

·
Registered