Gunboards Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
273 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings,

My future wife gave me a present this weekend, a Mini 14 from her late father's collection. I'm fairly new to modern guns, but I'm stoked because it is quite familiar to me being as I own an M1.

It appears to be an early model ( serial number begins with 183 IIRC ) with a stainless finish. It is not a Ranch Rifle, it has an M1/M14 style rear sight but I do not know how to adjust it. The gun also has a bayonet lug and a birdcage flashider, it appears to be the pin on style one piece front sight/lug/flashider.

My first issue is mags, I do not have the original Ruger 5 round mag. I have two 20 rd nickel "bling" mags that are going straight in the garbage as soon I have something better. The lock up tight, but they are PITA to get in/out of the gun, and by hand cycling the gun don't seem to feed worth a damn. In addtion they have rust brewing at every seam and crappy plastic followers that hang up in the mag body. I also have a plastic 30 rounder that is every bit as bad as the other two, except for rust...

Can anybody recommend a decent aftermarket mag? I've read the rare, Ruger hi-caps are good but very pricey. I'm just looking for good quality, blued steel 20 rd mags. Nothing fancy.

I also have questions concerning the scope and mount currently on it. It has a B-square mount that attaches with a big thumb screw to the plate on the side of the reciever. Can anyone comment on quality? It snugs up nice but I think it will shoot loose and I can't believe it could hold zero if you take it off.

It also has a 3-9 variable power Bushnell scope on it that seems to be decent... but I don't know much about scopes.

Sadly the gun seems like it wasn't well taken care of, the "stainless" finish appears to be turning black and has some rust stains on it, would something like Duracoat stick? Would painting over the finish ( I'd rate it at %50 ) really hurt the value?