Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have little experience in these old Martini Enfields and understand that there are a lot of forgeries coming out of the Middle East but I found this one at a gun show and even though I need to replace a part or two it was for a price that I couldn't pass up. I was wondering if you guys could help me figure out whether or not it is a forgery and any other information involving this gun would be much appreciated.

Attachments

·
Registered
707 Posts
That is a beautiful rifle! Some find them tacky, but I've always loved rifles with Middle Eastern art or inlays. Could we get pictures of the lever and barrel markings? I would estimate you have a rifle made with a mix of homemade and British parts.

·
Premium Member
1,266 Posts
The lath turning marks readily seen on the rear of the receiver marks that part as a forgery. Without detailed pics of the marks on all of the metal and what is under the barrel I wouldn't care to speculate further. However if the receiver isn't authentic, I wouldn't hold out a lot of hope for the rest of it.

·
Registered
2,649 Posts
Are those "lathe turning marks" or are they simply ornamentation? The photo is too fuzzy for me to distinguish clearly what they are or are not.

·
Premium Member
1,266 Posts
The answer to all of the above is that this is a forgery of a Martini-Henry MK II, plain and simple. Those are lath marks, no they never converted MK II to MK III, the key stamps are missing from the right places...etc., etc. To put the best face on it, call it native art......but a Brit Martini-Henry it is not.

·
Registered
646 Posts