Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Gentlemen, I would like to share these pictures with you and hope that you can tell me what I have here. I think it is a mannlicher but I have no idea of year or model. There are a few letter marks K and R. My father served in a NJ National Guard unit in England and Europe during WW11 and when the war ended he was near Pilsen, Czechoslovakia. I am guessing that he may have "liberated" this weapon there. But he was also in Austria, Germany, Belgium and France. He sent many items home. I am new to this hobby as this rifle and a Colt 1911 were left to me when my dad passed on. Any and all help identifying this rifle would be welcome along with any advice on caring and preserving this gun, Thanks in advance,, Jim

Attachments

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Some more Pictures, I hope they help. I could not find a serial # I probably am not looking in the right place. I am guessing that the name on the barrel is that of the original owner. These pics will show the crack in the stock and other dings.

Attachments

·
Administrator
12,075 Posts
It appears to be customized Mannlicher M.95. Georg Gabriel is likely the name on the gunsmith who did the customization and Breslau is the city.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
more pics

more pics

Attachments

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
and finally more pics

last of pics Should and or can any of the damage be repaired and is it the right thing to do or leave it as is? All and any advice is welcome. Jim

Attachments

·
Administrator
12,075 Posts
The wood shouldn't be a difficult repair to a stockmaker.

·
Registered
2,179 Posts