Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
383 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am pretty new to the reloading world so I have a few question I'd like answered. I have a Dillon RL550B press. I have yet to use it as I have been taking time to buy all the needed gear. I plan on reloading 300 Win Mag. The rifle is a bolt action rifle, not semi-auto. I need advice on what dies to get.

What I need advice on is what type sizing die to get? Full length or neck sizing?

Also what type of crimp would be recommended? Roll or taper?

Most rifle die sets I have seen have just two dies. I have seen some that have three dies. Any advantage to having the three die set over the two die set?

Most brands seem to be pretty good but is there any that seem to be better than others? I am leaning toward Redding. Opinions??

This rifle is one of those fancy heavy barreled sniper rifles so I want to go with dies that will reload the most accurate round. Well any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

·
Registered
5,309 Posts
Redding sells a deluxe three die set. It has full length sizer, neck sizer, and seater die. I have some of the deluxe die sets and cheaper in the long run to pay the $ in the beginning to get both sizers rather than try and get a neck sizer later on. Redding makes very good dies and bullet molds. Have 4 of their bullet molds and would not even think of selling them. I bought the redding deluxe die set for 30-40 krag as rcbs wanted an obscene amount of money for a neck die. So sold the 2 die set and never looked back. Hope this helps. Frank

·
Registered
120 Posts
I have mostly Lee dies, both collet type neck sizing dies and full length resizers. I like them very much. I had one set of RCBS, did not like them so I sold them. I have one set of Redding dies with a full length resizing die which I like very much also.