Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Platinum Bullet member
3,384 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As long as I have been collecting (since 1977) I have never had a Krag rifle. Well I finally found one. It came with a group of other rifles. It's a 1898 and in great condition. The stock cartouch is still visible as well as some of the original case hardening color.

·
Registered
3,895 Posts
Jimmy - nice '98. Welcome to the Distinguised Brotherhood of Kraggies. Of course I am upset that you found it before me! ;-)) It looks like your rifle has a M1896 rear sight. That's cool too. Be sure to check and see if the cleaning rods are in the butt trap. Most aren't but it's a nice plus when you get them.

·
Premium Member
3,090 Posts
Krag,

Did you catch the title of Jimmy's post? "My FIRST Krag". Do you want to tell him about the addiction or shall I???:D

I set out to get a "sample" Krag (I normally collect M1903s). I got a M1892/96. Story closed, right? Wrong! A few months later, I found an 1898 rifle at a great price that needed some TLC. Well, I HAD to get a carbine, so I found a neat 1896. My collection just WASN'T complete without an 1896 rifle, so I got that. After further study, I really liked the M1902 rear sight (Very similar to a M1903 Rod Bayonet) so I NEEDED an 1898 rifle with a M1902.... :eek: (Sound of RtL running off, screaming, into the night!!!)

·
Registered
3,895 Posts
Jim - there are 25 recognized variations of the US Krag, so far I have 14 so I have to find 11 more before I go to the Great Range in the Sky. IMHO they are the finest built, most interesting, sexiest military bolt guns ever to see the light of day. Oh I get palpitations just thinking about them.........sigh.

Oh yeah, I also have a Dane and Norski that I just "had" to buy when I saw them.

Did I tell you that I have a M1896 carbine with "T.R. - Santiago - 1898" carved in the buttstock? Only kidding, I just do that to keep Rick on his toes! ;-))