Gunboards Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Gold Bullet member
11,326 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
1940 dated, matching slide and frame. Barrel mismatched, mag too.

But she has seen some action!

Note the hand-made wood grips. Nobody seems to have seen grips like this before. I'm tempted to have the NCSU Ag department do a wood sample analysis to see what kind of tree it came from.

I suspect it is a Vietnam bringback, though Korea is not entirely impossible, too.

Any thoughts on collector value?

·
Registered
1,483 Posts
Nice,I am working a deal on my first TT-33, as far as value I am no expert but think it would bring 6 to 700 at least.

·
Registered
333 Posts
I sold one last year in a bit better shape, I think mine sold for around $550 (and I think should have been a bit more on gunbroker)

·
Silver Bullet member
402 Posts
I'm with everyone else...I would say $500+. I know that it would be on my radar at that price.

·
Gold Bullet member
11,326 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
I really like it, though I would like to have a standard-issue configuration TT33. This one is quite interesting, but not exactly what the troops would have carried since the grips are replacements.

·
Diamond with Oak Clusters Bullet Member
59,970 Posts
Still a nice pistol. It is always possible that the troops changed the grips.

·
Gold Bullet member
11,326 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
Eli, I tend to agree. Seems I've seen wood like this from SE Asia before, but I'm no expert.

I think I will contact the local Ag Dept at the university. They do these sort of things for free as student research projects.

·
Registered
2,533 Posts
Eli, I tend to agree. Seems I've seen wood like this from SE Asia before, but I'm no expert.

I think I will contact the local Ag Dept at the university. They do these sort of things for free as student research projects.